EMRTS Cymru has developed a robust system of organisational and clinical governance. The Service is hosted by Abertawe Bro Morgannwg University Health Board (ABMU HB) and was originally commissioned by the Welsh Health Specialised Services Committee (WHSSC). As of 1st April 2016 the commissioning responsibilities transferred to the Emergency Ambulance Services Committee (EASC). The organisational governance structure consists of an EMRTS Delivery Assurance Group (DAG) which sits as a sub-committee of EASC. The DAG is responsible for the delivery, direction and performance of the Service. The EMRTS Cymru National Director is accountable to the DAG for the delivery and performance of the Service and to the ABMU HB Chief Executive for organisational and clinical governance.


The organisational structure is illustrated below:

Internal governance is led by the EMRTS Clinical and Operational Board, which is attended by senior EMRTS personnel and support services, and manages clinical and operational issues relating to the Service. This group meet on a bi-monthly basis. Furthermore an Airway Group (who evaluate the emergency anesthetics provided by the Service), Equipment Group and Transfer Group report to the Board.

The External Clinical Advisory Group (ECAG) consists of membership from Regional Trauma Networks, Anaesthesia/ Critical Care, Emergency Medicine, Acute Surgery, Neonate/ Paediatric and Senior Pre-hospital Critical Care and Retrieval specialists. This group reports to the EMRTS Clinical and Operational Board and provides scrutiny of the clinical performance of the Service and independent peer review of significant adverse events. Since the start of the Service in April 2015, the governance processes have been effectively utilised to create an environment of transparency, learning and improvement.